ClubRalliart.com Your ad here
Old 08-11-2015, 05:24 PM

Default Exhaust system Help

Looking to upgrade to a performance exhaust system. .
Guess what I need to know is if I go turbo back is a tune necessary as to only a cat back exhaust system ?

And what about intake, I'm new to the turbo game and the rule to thumb. .
Old 08-11-2015, 06:19 PM

Technically? No. Your ECU will compensate for the lack in back pressure; however, our turbos are so small that you don't really get any restriction from the downpipe on the stock turbo so replacing that is almost a moot point unless you're going for big power/don't mind throwing a code. Techincally you SHOULD get a tune with every bolt on, but we're all realistic here. Haha.

Grabbing a high flow cat/test pipe, again if you don't mind throwing a code with the test pipe, and a cat back seems to be the way to go on the stock turbo. I believe I read somewhere that the stock exhaust is good up to 277whp, but don't quote me on that.

But, that's just my .02. I'm sure there are other opinions as well.
Old 08-12-2015, 01:27 AM

Thanks! Definitely don't want any codes/check engine light..
I'm not looking for much, I was thinking exhaust,intake,chip just for now. looking for the best option/route for this setup.. oh and is a bov upgrade needed with this type of setup?
Old 08-12-2015, 03:34 AM

Again, just my understanding of these cars which is by no means omniscient, but there are some better options for the money for these cars.

For instance, intakes in general are pretty much useless on a mostly stock vehicle. You will see little to no gain, and sometimes even loss, from an intake and these cars WILL NOT run properly without a tune on an aftermarket intake. The best thing you can do for the ralliart is get a high flow drop in filter. You might notice a very small amount of increased throttle response, or not, but it does make the turbo much easier to hear spooling which is fun.