ClubRalliart.com Your ad here

Go Back   ClubRalliart.com > 2009+ Lancer Ralliart Forums > 2009+ Lancer Ralliart General
Home Forums Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Old 09-03-2012, 06:36 PM

Default Thinking about buying a Ralliart but I have some worries..

I found a 2009 Lancer Ralliart with 41k miles that's a great deal. It was in stock form, not even an aftermarket intake or exhaust.

I test drove it today and it drove great. There was some hesitation from dead stop to first, but I've read that is normal, I also noticed this in between all gears. No jittering. When I stomped on it, it responded accordingly and shifted very well. This is my first time ever being in one of these cars so I don't know what normal is. It was like what I'd imagine a car with a higher than stock stall converter; that was only while cruising. I was limited to my speed, only got it to third gear.

I've read a transmission for one of these cannot be rebuilt and they are QUITE expensive to replace(somewhere in the neighborhood of 10K). I got online and did some searches and it seems there are quite a few people with tranny issues in the '09 on unmodded cars with low miles.

Is there anything I can do to fully check the car out before I sign for it? Should I walk away from it since I can't really afford to make a repair like that? 2-3K I could see doing, but 10k(if that's even right) is just too much for me right now.

Thanks a lot guys for any help you can provide.
Old 09-03-2012, 07:09 PM

Default buying a ralliart

I would have a good mechanic that is familiar with this type of transmission check it out or buy an extended warranty. I have a 2012 and this is one of the nicest cars I have ever had. Hope you get some feedback from someone with more knowledge on this tranny!
Old 09-03-2012, 09:01 PM